28.01.2014 00:11 - in: Events S

    Juve crowned Italy’s best at Gran Galà

    Share with:
    • 1
    • 3
    • 2
    The Bianconeri are awarded for their superb 2012/13 season with prizes for best club, coach and player at this evening’s ceremony in Milan. Four also named in the campaign’s top starting XI

    Juventus enjoyed a clean sweep at tonight’s ‘Gran Galà del Calcio’ ceremony in Milan, winning the awards for best club, coach and player of the 2012/13 season, as well as having four members of the squad named in the side of the year.

    It is the second year in succession that Antonio Conte has been named as Serie A’s finest coach, this time beating off competition from Fiorentina’s Vincenzo Montella to claim the prestigious honour.

    Accepting his award on stage, the Bianconeri boss said: “Credit and thanks goes those who I have been fortunate enough to coach over the past three years. It’s a real pleasure to work with them – they’re great footballers and great men.

    “We managed to win straightaway in our first year, then followed this up during the next season. Now we’re also trying to win this time around. We know it will be difficult - Roma and Napoli are both excellent sides - but we’ve got the desire, determination and will to keep surprising.”

    Picking up the best club gong was president Andrea Agnelli, who said: “Our objective is to always win. That’s the verb we state on a daily basis and have been repeating since May, already thinking about the date with history that would be represented by a third successive Scudetto title.”  

    Also doing the double following last season’s player of the year award was Andrea Pirlo, who reclaimed his crown following another scintillating term at the heart of midfield.  

    In addition, the 34-year-old was again named as best playmaker in the team of the season, while Andrea Barzagli also retained last year’s title as the league’s top right-sided central defender.

    They were joined in the starting XI by team-mates Giorgio Chiellini and Arturo Vidal, nominated as the division’s finest left-sided central defender and inside midfielder respectively.

    Selecting the winners was a panel featuring players, managers, referees and a group of journalists.

    The event, organised by the AIC (Italian Footballers’ Association), is now in its third edition having replaced the former ‘Oscar del Calcio’ awards in 2011.

    Under the previous format, which ran between 1997 and 2010, Juventus held the greatest number of accolades: four best players, three best Italian players, five best foreign players and coaches and two best clubs.

    Share with:
    • 1
    • 3
    • 2
    Information on the use of cookies
    This website uses cookies and, in some cases, third-party cookies for marketing purposes and to provide services in line with your preferences.
    If you want to know more about our cookie policy click here.
    By clicking OK, or closing this banner, or browsing the website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.