06.09.2015 10:00 - in: Unesco Cup S

    The illustrious past of Boca Juniors

    Share with:
    • 1
    • 3
    • 2
    With just a few days to go until the UNESCO Cup, Juventus.com takes a closer look at the history of one of South America’s most celebrated clubs, Boca Juniors

    The inaugural UNESCO Cup at Juventus Stadium in 2014 was contested by the legends of two of Europe’s most celebrated and best-supported clubs, Juventus and Real Madrid.

    This time around, the Bianconeri will be joined by South American giants Boca Juniors, a club with claims to being one of the most decorated sides in world football. 

    Over a century of success

    Founded in 1905 by six Genovese immigrants, Esteban Baglietto, Alfredo Scarpatti, Santiago Sana, the Teodoro brothers and Juan Antonio Farenga, acquiring the nickname of Los Xeneizes in the process, few clubs have enjoyed the sustained success and obtained the same prestige as the Buenos Aires-based outfit. 

    Boca’s trademark blue and yellow colours, inspired by the flag of the first ship to enter the city’s harbour on the day of the club’s founding (which happened to be Swedish), have became a symbol of Argentinian football and just like the black and white of Juventus is immediately recognisable around the world.

    Hailing from the Boca region of the country’s capital, the club have since gone on to win over 40 domestic honours and are still the only Argentinian club to have never been relegated.

    But it is in overseas competitions that the Azul y Oro have staked their claim as one of the world’s very best, winning 22 international titles, including six Copa Libertadores, the most recent coming in 2007, and three Club World Cups in 1977, 2000 and 2003. 


    Primera División

    1919, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1930, 1931, 1934, 1935, 1940, 1943, 1944, 1954, 1962, 1964, 1965

    Copa Carlos Ibarguren

    1919, 1923, 1924, 1940, 1944

    Campeón de Honor


    Copa Competencia


    Copa Estimulo


    Copa Competencia Británica


    Copa Argentina


    Campeonato Nacional

    1969, 1970, 1976

    Campeonato Metropolitano

    1976, 1981

    Torneo Apertura

    1992, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2011

    Torneo Clausura

    1999, 2006

    Copa Argentina


    Copa Competencia (Asociación Argentina de Football y Asociación Uruguaya de Football)


    Copa de Honor (Asociación Argentina de Football y Asociación Uruguaya de Football)


    Copa Confraternidad (AFA y AUF)


    Copa Libertadores

    1977,1978, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007

    Club World Cup

    1977, 2000, 2003




    1990, 2005, 2006, 2008

    Copa Master


    Copa de Oro Nicolas Leoz


    Copa Sudamericana

    2004, 2005
    La Bombonera

    Matching los Xeneizes’ prestigious past is the club’s iconic stadium. The 49,000 seater Estadio Alberto J.Armando, widely known as La Bombonera (meaning sweet tin) for its peculiar shape and proximity to the pitch, has been Boca’s home since 28 May 1940. 


    In keeping with Argentina’s passion and tradition for exciting and spontaneous forwards, to read the list of players to have represented Boca in its illustrious 110 year history is to understand the strength of its legacy in producing talented footballers, especially in the final third.

    Great number tens Diego Maradona, Juan Roman Riquelme and prolific scorers Claudio Caniggia, Martin Palermo and Carlos Tevez all began their careers at the Bombonera, earning acclaim in both South America and Europe as among the most gifted attacking players of their generations. 

    In two separate spells, striker Palermo netted 236 times for Boca, making him the highest goalscorer in the club’s history. Further down the pitch, in recent times midfielder Roberto Battaglia and goalkeeper Roberto Abbondanzieri have also obtained legendary status among the Bombonera faithful for their longevity and loyalty to the Azul y Oro.

    As the Legends of Boca take to the field on Tuesday 8 September, there could be no better side to join the Bianconeri in their celebration of the Juventus Stadium’s fourth anniversary. The meeting between two stalwarts of the global game is an event that is not to be missed. 

    Share with:
    • 1
    • 3
    • 2
    Information on the use of cookies
    This website uses cookies and, in some cases, third-party cookies for marketing purposes and to provide services in line with your preferences.
    If you want to know more about our cookie policy click here.
    By clicking OK, or closing this banner, or browsing the website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.