Web Content Viewer (JSR 286)

UEFA Europa League

The Europa League, formerly known as the UEFA Cup, is a continental football tournament which is reserved to domestic cup winners and clubs that finish narrowly short of the Champions League places

UEFA Cup 1993

Having romped to a 10-1 aggregate victory in the first round against Cypriot side Anorthosis, Juventus beat Greek team Panathinaikos 1-0 before then achieving another convincing result, this time 7-1 against Czech outfit Sigma Olomouc.

The Bianconeri were drawn against the incredible Benfica team (featuring Paolo Sousa) in the quarter-finals and managed to bounce back from a marginal defeat in Lisbon with a 3-0 return leg success at the Stadio delle Alpi thanks to goals from Kohler, Dino Baggio and Ravanelli.

Paris Saint-Germain were the side tasked with a trip to Turin in the semi-finals, where they took an early advantage through Weah but then saw the lead evaporate before the final whistle as an inspired Roberto Baggio netted a double to give the Bianconeri a solid lead to take to Paris. Baggio was again tormentor-in-chief at the Parc des Princes and his goal booked Juve’s place in the final.

Juventus were crowned UEFA Cup champions for a third time following a resounding 6-1 aggregate victory in the final against Borussia Dortmund, featuring a 3-1 success in Germany on 5 May (Dino and Roberto Baggio on the scoresheet) and then 3-0 at the delle Alpi on 19 May (double from Dino Baggio and a solitary strike from Moeller). This aggregate success remains a record in UEFA Cup finals.


  • Giovanni Trapattoni
  • Peruzzi
  • Rampulla
  • Carrera
  • Kohler
  • Galia
  • Vialli
  • Torricelli
  • Conte
  • Moller
  • D Baggio
  • R Baggio
  • Di Canio
  • Ravanelli
  • De Marchi
  • Julio Cesar
  • Platt
  • Casiraghi
  • Marocchi
  • Sartor
  • Ragagnin