21.10.2013 18:03 - in: S

      Primavera depart for Madrid

      Share with:
      • 1
      • 3
      • 2
      Andrea Zanchetta’s side will be aiming to put distance between themselves and Real Madrid when they take on the Spanish giants in Wednesday afternoon’s third UEFA Youth League Group B fixture

      Primavera coach Andrea Zanchetta has confirmed a 20-man squad for his side’s third UEFA Youth League Group B encounter against Real Madrid, to be broadcast live at 16.00 CET by Eurosport.

      The Bianconeri youngsters, who join the first team in departing for the Spanish capital this afternoon, currently top their group and could potentially secure their place in the knockout stages of the competition with a win on Wednesday afternoon.

      It will be the Primavera’s first official match action in over 20 days after their championship was put on hiatus due to the Under 17 World Cup currently being contested in Dubai.

      With their last competitive fixture yielding a 3-1 win over Galatasaray, Zanchetta’s side will be hoping their fresh legs can give them added impetus ahead of a tough test against the Spanish giants.  

      In the build-up to his team’s departure for Madrid, Zanchetta spoke to JTV: “We’ve only played friendly games since the championship break. In Madrid we’ll see how much of our recent work we’ve been able to take on board. The game could be fundamental for our progress in the tournament, a positive result could enable us to pull clear of Real.

      “We’ll be up against an excellent side and need to deal with several important absences, but I’ve got a large squad from which to choose from. In addition we’ll be able to count on the enthusiasm of three Spanish players – Garcia Tena, Otin and Buenacasa – who will all be keen to put on a good show.”

      The absentees confirmed by Zanchetta include five international players - Emila Audero, Younes Bnou Marzouk, Jakub Hromada, Attila Varga and Filippo Romagna – as well as overage duo Simone Emmanuello and Joel Untersee.

      The full travelling party, including the players’ official UEFA Youth League squad numbers, is as follows:

      1 Citti (Goalkeeper)
      2 Bertinetti (Defender)
      4 Garcia Tena (Defender)
      6 Sakor (Midfielder)
      7 Tavanti (Defender)
      8 Buenacasa Alba (Striker)
      10 Gerbaudo (Midfielder)
      11 Ceria (Midfielder)
      13 Slivka (Midfielder)
      15 Curti Nicolò (Defender)
      16 Penna (Defender)
      17 Di Benedetto (Striker)
      18 Otin Lafuente (Striker)
      19 Donis (Striker)
      21 Mattiello (Midfielder)
      24 Roussos (Midfielder)
      25 Barlocco (Defender)
      26 Soumah (Striker)
      27 Curti Alessandro (Midfielder)
      30 Elezaj (Goalkeeper)

      Share with:
      • 1
      • 3
      • 2
      Information on the use of cookies
      This website uses cookies and, in some cases, third-party cookies for marketing purposes and to provide services in line with your preferences.
      If you want to know more about our cookie policy click here.
      By clicking OK, or closing this banner, or browsing the website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.