10.09.2019 16:00 - in: Events S

      Andrea Agnelli re-elected as President of the ECA

      Share with:
      • 1
      • 3
      • 2
      The Juventus President will continue at the helm of the European Club Association for a four-year period between 2019 and 2023

      "It is an honor for me to still hold the office of President and I want to thank my fellow Council members for allowing me to continue this journey." Today, Andrea Agnelli was confirmed as the president of the ECA for a four-year period from 2019 to 2023, during the 23rd general assembly of the European Club Association. The event took place in Geneva on September 9 and 10 with 169 representatives of as many European clubs. In addition to the appointment of the President, the Executive Board was also elected, whose presence has increased from 15 to 24 members, discussing the future of European competition after 2024:

      "After the General Assembly of Malta (held last June), I was very confident - stressed Agnelli - after two days at the assembly. We committed ourselves to collaborate with all the clubs, always keeping in mind that our duty is to protect football in all European countries. There are no vested interests, there is only the interest of football, and the main interest of football is unity: I am sure that we will pursue it under the leadership of President Ceferin and UEFA which is the only body that will propose and approve the competitions, and we are confident that it will not take long to formalise an agreement and a shared plan".

      "The last few months have seen the ECA engage in a detailed and in-depth consultation process - continued Agnelli - which has allowed all its members to share their ideas and opinions on how the reform of European competitions should be developed. Overall feedback clearly indicates that more international matches are essential for the development of football as a whole. Now we are entering a second phase of consultations, which will lead to developing a more concrete vision on the part of UEFA regarding the future of European competitions".

      ECA Executive Board, 2019-23 ECA Membership Cycle

      Chairman: Andrea Agnelli (Juventus)

      Vice-Chairman: Pedro López Jiménez (Real Madrid CF)

      Vice-Chairman: Edwin van der Sar (AFC Ajax)

      Vice-Chairman: Dariusz Mioduski (Legia Warszawa SA)

      Vice-Chairman: Aki Riihilahti (HJK Helsinki)

      Board Member: Nasser Al-Khelaifi (Paris Saint-Germain FC)

      Board Member: Ed Woodward (Manchester United FC)

      Board Member: Josep Maria Bartomeu (FC Barcelona)

      Board Member: Michael Gerlinger (Bayern München)

      Board Member: Raúl Sanllehí (Arsenal FC)

      Board Member: Miguel Gil (Club Atlético de Madrid)

      Board Member: Peter Moore (Liverpool FC)

      Board Member: Hans-Joachim Watzke (Borussia Dortmund)

      Board Member: Steven Zhang (FC Internazionale Milano)

      Board Member: Jean-Michel Aulas (Olympique Lyonnais)

      Board Member: Michael Verschueren (RSC Anderlecht)

      Board Member: Miguel Moreira (SL Benfica)

      Board Member: Daniel Rommedahl (FC København)

      Board Member: Ali Koç (Fenerbahçe SK)

      Board Member: Peter Lawwell (Celtic FC)

      Board Member: Amra Peternel (GNK Dinamo Zagreb)

      Board Member: Stefan Pantović (FK Crvena Zvezda)

      Board Member: Wanja Greuel (BSC Young Boys)

      Board Member: Kuno Tehva (Nõmme Kalju FC)

      Subdivision Representative (Observer): Alexander Medvedev (FC Zenit St. Petersburg)

      Subdivision Representative (Observer): Raphael Landthaler (SK Rapid Wien)

      Subdivision Representative (Observer): Niclas Carlnén (Malmö FF)

      Subdivision Representative (Observer): Vidar Halldorsson (FH Hafnarfjörður)

      ECA Representatives on the UEFA Club Competitions Committee, 2019-23

      Fernando Carro (Bayer 04 Leverkusen)

      Josep Maria Bartomeu (FC Barcelona)

      Ed Woodward (Manchester United FC)

      Ferran Soriano (Manchester City FC)

      Ivan Gazidis (AC Milan)

      Aurelio De Laurentiis (SSC Napoli)

      Jacques-Henri Eyraud (Olympique de Marseille)

      Alexander Medvedev (FC Zenit St. Petersburg)

      Michael Verschueren (RSC Anderlecht)

      Peter Fossen (PSV Eindhoven)

      Raphael Landthaler (SK Rapid Wien)

      Dariusz Mioduski (Legia Warszawa SA)

      Niclas Carlnén (Malmö FF)

      Aki Riihilahti (HJK Helsinki)

      Kuno Tehva (Nõmme Kalju FC)

      Vidar Halldorsson (FH Hafnarfjörður)

      Share with:
      • 1
      • 3
      • 2
      Information on the use of cookies
      This website uses cookies and, in some cases, third-party cookies for marketing purposes and to provide services in line with your preferences.
      If you want to know more about our cookie policy click here.
      By clicking OK, or closing this banner, or browsing the website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.